Citizen    Business     Government     Visitor    
NEW! Draft Statutes (Practice Act)
O.T. Home
Board Members
Contact Us
F.A.Q.
License Types & Requirements
Forms
Rules & Statutes
Fees
Verification of Wyoming License
Event Calendar
A.O.T.A
N.B.C.O.T.
W.Y.O.T.A.
Printable .PDF File
LICENSE TYPES AND REQUIREMENTS:

Wyoming Board of Occupational Therapy

6101 Yellowstone Road, Suite 501

Cheyenne, WY 82002

Phone (307) 777-7764        Fax (307) 777-3314

E-Mail: vspire@state.wy.us   Web: http://ot.state.wy.us

 

APPLICATION INSTRUCTIONS:

 

IMPORTANT - PLEASE NOTE:

 

1.         You cannot practice occupational therapy in Wyoming until your application has been approved by this board.

 

2.         Regardless of the issue date of a permanent license, all permanent licenses expire on July 31st annually.

As a condition of renewal, 16 hours of continuing education will need to be submitted along with the renewal fee.Please refer to the rules and regulations for more information regarding license renewals.

 

INSTRUCTIONS FOR ALL APPLICANTS:

 

 

1.         All applicants must complete either the Regular Application form, or the Temporary Practice Status Application form.    All application forms must be signed and must contain a current photograph. 

 

2.         All applicants must prove lawful presence per instructions provided.

 

3.         All initial license fees must be paid by money order or certified check.

 

LICENSE TYPES AND REQUIREMENTS:

 

Temporary Practice Status:

 

Issued to applicants who will be working less than 45 days in a calendar year (January 1 - December 31).  Applicant must have a current license in another state, or must have current NBCOT certification.  In addition, the applicant must work  in association with another OT licensed to practice in the state of Wyoming.

 

1.         Complete Temporary Practice Status Registration form.

 

2.         If the applicant has a current license in another state, Temporary Practice Status must be based on this license.  The WY Board of OT must receive verification this current license from the issuing state.  Verification should include issue and expiration date as well as current standing.  A form is provided in the application packet, but the information can be provided in any format used by individual jurisdictions, including online license verifications.  Applicant is responsible for providing website address as well as any required information needed to obtain online license verification, i.e. license number, etc.  If online license verification is not available, the applicant is responsible for requesting license verification be sent to this Board, as  well as for any fee that may be required by the verifying agency for this service.

 

If the applicant does not have a current license in another state, Temporary Practice Status may be based on current NBCOT certification.  The Board requires verification of the Applicant=s  initial certification as well as standing with NBCOT.  (Please note that a copy of a current NBCOT card does not indicate current disciplinary standing with the NBCOT.)  The WY OT  Board can request verification on your behalf from the NBCOT.  NBCOT has agreed to provide verification by fax to Boards for a fee of $10.00 each, with a processing time of about one week.  .  Processing time for this is about one week.   If you wish this Board to request verification for you, please add the $10.00 fee to the total of your fees and enclose a note with your application indicating the following: your name as it appears on the NBCOT data base, NBCOT certificate number, and your initial certification date.   If you wish to request this verification on your own, please contact the NBCOT directly.

 

3.         Board must receive a signed and dated letter from a WY licensed therapist  agreeing  to work in association with the applicant, as outlined in the rule book.  This letter must be received directly from the associated therapist and should not come through the applicant=s hands.  This letter can be faxed by the writer directly to the Board at (307) 777-3314

 

 

Limited Permit:

 

Issued to applicants who have completed their education fieldwork requirements and are waiting to take the NBCOT exam, or are awaiting the receipt of their scores from this exam.  Applicant must work under the supervision of  another WY licensed therapist.  All notes must be co-signed by both the Limited Permit holder and the supervising therapist.

 

1.         Complete Regular Application form, marking box for Limited Permit.

 


2.         Pay Application fee and Limited Permit fee.  See rulebook for current fees.

 

3.         The Board requires two letters of reference, preferably from fieldwork affiliations.  Letters should be sent directly from the reference provider to the Board.  Applicant is not allowed to review these letters in order that the writer can be candid on the applicant=s qualifications. Letters should attest to the applicant=s professional performance and ethics  in the practice of occupational therapy.  All letters must be dated and signed, and these letters may be faxed to the Board at (307) 777-3314, or sent by  mail.   Letters cannot be submitted by e-mail.

 

4.         Applicant must provide verification of all licenses held, active or inactive, in any health care profession.  Verification should include issue and expiration date as well as current standing.  A form is provided in the application packet, but the information can be provided in any format used by individual jurisdictions, including online license verifications.  Applicant is responsible for providing website address as well as any required information needed to obtain online license verification, i.e. license number, etc.  If online license verification is not available, the applicant is responsible for requesting license verification be sent to this Board, as  well as for any fee that may be required by the verifying agency for this service. 

                                                                                   

5.         Limited Permit holder must keep written documentation of all supervisory sessions.  The Board may request copies of this documentation prior to issuance of permanent licensure. Supervision notes should be signed by both the Limited Permit holder and the supervising therapist. 

 

6.         Applicant should request that NBCOT  send exam scores to this Board.  Upon receipt of successful exam scores, this Limited Permit may be converted to a permanent license by submitting the required permanent license fee.  See rule book for current fees.

 

Temporary License:

                                                                                   

Issued to applicant who holds a current license in another state.  Upon approval, Temporary licensure will be in place for 90 days to allow the applicant to complete all the necessary steps listed below for permanent licensure.  Applicant will not be required to pay a second application fee, however the permanent license fee must be submitted prior to issuance of the permanent license.

 

1.         Complete Regular Application form, marking box for Temporary License.

 

2.         Pay Application fee and Temporary License  Fee.  See rulebook for current fees.

 

3.         Provide a copy of a current license in another state.

 

Permanent License: 

 

1.         Complete Regular Application form.

 

2.         Pay Application fee and Permanent License fee.  See rulebook for current fees.

 

3.         Applicant must provide verification of all licenses held, active or inactive, in any health care profession.  Verification should include issue and expiration date as well as current standing.  A form is provided in the application packet, but the information can be provided in any format used by individual jurisdictions, including online license verifications.  Applicant is responsible for providing website address as well as any required information needed to obtain online license verification, i.e. license number, etc.  If online license verification is not available, the applicant is responsible for requesting license verification be sent to this Board, as  well as for any fee that may be required by the verifying agency for this service.

 

4.         The Board requires verification of the Applicant=s  initial certification as well as standing with NBCOT.  (Please note that a copy of a current NBCOT card does not indicate current disciplinary standing with the NBCOT.) The WY OT  Board can request verification on your behalf from the NBCOT.  NBCOT has agreed to provide verification by fax to Boards for a fee of $10.00 each, with a processing time of about one week.  .  Processing time for this is about one week.   If you wish this Board to request verification for you, please add the $10.00 fee to the total of your fees and enclose a note with your application indicating the following: your name as it appears on the NBCOT data base, NBCOT certificate number, and your initial certification date.   If you wish to request this verification on your own, please contact the NBCOT directly.

 

5.         The Board requires  two letters of reference.  Letters should be sent directly from the reference provider to the Board.  Applicant is not allowed to review these letters in order that the writer can be candid on the applicant=s qualifications. Letters should attest to the applicant=s professional performance and ethics in the practice of occupational therapy.  All letters must be dated and signed, and these letters may be faxed to the Board at (307) 777-3314, or sent by  mail.   Letters cannot be submitted by e-mail.